top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNoemi Ruiz

Diy Disc Bound Notebook

Hi everyone!! today I would like to share with you another project using your stamps. This project is pretty easy but can be time consuming depending on how complex you make the arrangement of your stamped images and which materials you decide to use to color in your images. In this case I went the more complex way and stamped out many images to color.

I began the notebook by making the front and back cover. I measured the cover of my Happy Planner by me&my big ideas.I only measured the paper part of the cover not the whole cover to the outside edge that is laminated since I will laminate the cover so it will account for the whole size of the cover. I used the Anemone Coronaria stamp set; which is one of my favorites as you could probably see since I use it a lot: (Fun Fact about me anemone flowers are my favorite.) You could use any stamp set you like to make the covers of your notebook. I will also be sharing some examples of other covers I made using different stamp sets at the end of the post. for all of them I used the same steps to make them.


 

To begin this project I began by stamping the simpler flower first; towards the middle of the page (the flower in the middle from the picture below). I then created a mask using post-it notes that have full adhesive on the back to cover the stamped image. To make the mask I used the coordinating die cuts to cut it out. Once I had the mask made I laid it on the flower to cover it up; then I stamped the more complex flower on the sides. once I was happy with were the flowers were placed I then made two more masks using the other flower stamp and covered those up. I then took some of the leaf stamps and stamped them around the flowers. I stamped the leafs mostly on the bottom part of the flowers. I also used the little flower bud stamps and placed them in some areas.

Once I was happy with the stamping I began to color in my images. In this case I used prismacolor color pencils. For the flower in the middle I used the combination of Canary Yellow (PC 916), Sunburst Yellow (PC 917), and Yellow Ochre (PC 942). I began by coloring the whole flower with the lightest color which is the Canary Yellow (PC916). Once I finished coloring the whole flower I went in with the Sunburst Yellow (PC917) and used a small flicking motion from the center of the flower and then from the outside edges and finishing off with the Yellow Ochre (PC 942) using the same flicking motion only in this case using smaller flicking motions. I use the small flicking motion to color the flower in because I feel that in a way it adds depth in color and gives it a little something into looking a bit more like a realistic flower.


I decided to go with a soft orange for the flower on the left. For this combination of color I used Spanish Orange (PC1003), Yellowed Orange (PC 1002), and Orange (PC918) as before I used the same technique to color the flower above. First I laid down the lightest color PC 1003 and then as before I used a small flicking motion to add detail with the other two darker color.

And last but not least the flower on the right I decided to use a redish color. For this combination of color I used Carmine Red (PC 926), Crimson Red (PC 924), and Crimson Lake (PC 925) coloring it in the same manner as i did for the other two flowers. For the leaves I used the color combination of Grass Green (PC 909), Olive Green (PC 911) and Dark Green (PC 909).

 

Once I finished coloring all of my flowers and leaves I laminated the covers that I had made. I used a laminator that I had purchased at Wal-Mart for about $30 and used a 5mm laminating sheet; depending on your preference you could use a thinner laminating sheet or a thicker one just make sure you are able to whole punch it with which ever whole punch you will be using.



 

Materials Used:

Stamp Set:

- https://altenew.com/products/build-a-flower-anemone-coronaria


Ink Pad:

- https://www.simonsaysstamp.com/search?currency=USD&q=memento+tuxedo+black

- https://www.scrapbook.com/store/gb-tsmp900.html


Colored pencils:

-https://www.amazon.com/Prismacolor-Premier-Colored-Pencils-Soft/dp/B000E23RSQ/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=prismacolor+colored+pencils&qid=1564358530&s=gateway&sr=8-3


- https://www.simonsaysstamp.com/product/Prismacolor-PREMIER-COLORED-PENCILS-72-Set-3599-20483?currency=USD


Sticky notes for masking:

- https://www.simonsaysstamp.com/product/3M-Scotch-SUPER-STICKY-FULL-ADHESIVE-Post-It-Notes-35625-35625SC


-https://www.amazon.com/Post-Adhesive-Sticking-Collection-F330-16SSAU/dp/B00NPANUQI/ref=sr_1_2_sspa?crid=NY6RWH16R2EF&keywords=full+sticky+post+it+notes&qid=1564358612&s=gateway&sprefix=full+stickey+%2Caps%2C259&sr=8-2-spons&psc=1

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page