top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNoemi Ruiz

Cards For Smiles+ Simple Card

Hello, my wonderful crafty friends!! Man has it been crazy for a while now I hope that you are all staying safe in these times. I was just informed by my college that for the rest of the semester we will be having classes online, which kinda sucks since I like getting out of my house for a couple of hours a day but I understand that every precaution needs to be taken to prevent the spread of covid-19. On the upside, I can craft my little heart out after I finish my school work. which means more things to share with all of you!!


So with all of this craziness happening right now, I wanted to show and share a little joy with all of you...a while back I posted in my stories on Instagram that I was starting a snail mail list. This was a way for me to create cards and mail them out to all of you. With that being said this list is for my eyes only and confidential since I know many don't like sharing their address which I totally understand and I feel the same way about.


With all of this being said I hope that all of you crafty people join me and spread some joy while practicing some social distancing if possible. Share some joy through mailing handmade cards to your close family and friends or even giving some to all of those who can't stay home and have to work such as doctors/nurses and all those people working in the stores that have to deal with all this craziness. Soooo now moving on to some crafty joy I wanted to share with you this super cute and simple card that I made to mail out.


For this card, I used the "Peony Memories" stamp set from The Ton that I had used to make the see-through bookmarks. I also used the "Stripes & Sayings" background stamp from Concord & 9th. To start off this card I cut a piece of 110lb white paper to 4 1/4" by 11; I then scored it down the middle at 5 1/2". At this point, I had an idea in my head but as usual, my card took a different turn and ended up looking nothing like what I had originally planned. Though I still like how it turned out.

I stamped out my flowers in pink and followed the steps to stamp them out; aligning the rectangles and squares so the stamping would come out correct. I then used the coordinating die-cut to cut out my images. I then set my images aside and took my scored 4 1/4" by 5 1/2" piece of paper (this is were my card took a different turn) I wanted to create something a bit different than what I had usually created. so I took my paper and opened it. At one end of my paper, I cut it into an offset "V" shape then I took a scrap piece of paper and laid it in between my card. I then used my MISTI and the Concord & 9th background stamp and stamped out the image on my card in the taylored expressions "oreo" ink color.


At this point, I realized that my card wasn't really looking like the idea I had in my head so I decided to just roll with it instead of trying to "fix" what I thought was where I had messed up. So, I took my flowers and started arranging them on the front of my card, once I was happy with how they were arranged I glued them down and then placed my MISTI on top to make sure my card wouldn't curve since I used liquid glue. Then I added my sentiment and repeated the placing of my MISTI on top so they wouldn't move around. I then die cut three "hello" from some cardstock and glued them one on top of the other to get dimension. Once I finished that I took a light pink Tombow marker and colored just the edge of the word to give it some contrast with the background of the card. I then glued on the word and added some wink of Stella to make it shimmer to finish off my card.

Thank you for joining me once more and I hope you all stay safe and are creating to spread some joy in these hard times. Please consider subscribing so you can receive updates on when I post new things.

 

Materials:

 

Stamp & Die-cut:



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page