top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNoemi Ruiz

Easy way to spice up your corner bookmarks

Hello, lovelies!!!! I hope you all are having a wonderful day today. Also, that you can get a little time to craft into your week or weekend depending on when you're reading this post. This brings me to what this blog post is about, so as you can guess by the title it's a way to spice up those super easy to make corner bookmarks. So I have been looking online at a lot of different ways that these bookmarks and they all looked pretty similar. I felt like those looks didn't really fit my style; until I came across one where the person who posted it on Pinterest used a stamp and a patterned piece of paper to create her bookmark. In other words, I was inspired by this person's Pinterest post but I took it up a little bit to fit my personal taste.


For this project, you will need a stamp set, a colored piece of paper, tape, and some glue. The prosses in which I began creating this cute and stylish bookmark was by taking a rose layering stamp (Everything's Rosy by Sunny Studio Stamps) and stamping it out in my favorite color which is turquoise. As always you can use whichever colors you would like, in this case, I used some ink pads from Taylored Expressions in the colores "Confetti Cake", "Cookie Monster", "Blue Raspberry", And "Poblano Pepper". I also used "Lime Zest", "Peapod", and "Cilantro" for the leaves. To begin my layering I started off as most do by starting with my lightest shade working to my darkest. Since this particular stamp set has five layers instead of the usual 3 or 4 layers I used my darkest shade when it came to it and stamped it out the fifth layer twice to get a darker look from it.

After I stamped out all the pieces I used the coordinating die cuts to cut them out. I then took a 4X4 piece of light blue paper and used the polka dot turnabout stamp from concord and 9th to stamp out some polka dots to match my flowers. I then folded two of the corners inward joining them in the middle and then took a small piece of tape attached to one side and then folded the other on top of it to make the triangle shape. I then used a scallop punch and made the scallops on the bottom of the page which then I folded to get a pretty edge on the bottom of my bookmark as shown in the picture below. Once I was finished with that I took a white 3.25X3.25 piece of paper and used the quilted hearts embossing folder from Sunny Studios and ran it through my die cut machine. I wanted to use this paper to add a little more texture to my bookmark as well as a bit of sturdiness. I glued the white embossed paper to the triangle part of my bookmark along with the flowers and then placed something heavy on top so that it could dry flat.

And that is how you make this super cute corner bookmark; not too complicated I hope as always if you have any questions please feel free to contact me. Thank you for joining me one more time; please consider following me on Instagram to see some other projects.

 

Materials:

 

Stamp Sets:

- Everythings rosy



- Polka Dot Turnabout


Die Cuts:

-Everythings rosy



Embossing Folder:

-Quilted Hearts



Inks:


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page