top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNoemi Ruiz

Interactive Card-Let's toast pull tab add-on

Updated: Feb 3, 2019

Hello Everyone, today I am using some products from some of my favorite stamp companies; I will be using the "Childhood Friends" stamp set form Kindred Stamps and the "Let's toast pull tab add-on" die cut set from Lawn Fawn. For this card I will try to explain how I assembled this card the best I can.


First off I began with what is the base of my interactive piece. This piece is 5 1/4- 4 inches; then I took some watercolor markers and painted on the background. I began by using the green tones I had to create something that looked like a range of hills and then colored in some blue for the sky. Once the background dried I measured out where the middle of the page of the background and drew a line down the middle; this is where a little notch will go at the top. Then I used the notch die cut to create it, then I used the long "T" shaped die, the rectangular die with , and the little oval die that indicated where to pull.



Once I cut those dies out I then used the straight tiny line die cut to cut out a little line where the image would be. After I finished all these steps I then stamped out the bear, tiger, rabbit, piggy, and a couple little bees from the "childhood friends" stamp set from kindred stamps. In this case I used some Spectrum Noir , chameleon Markers, and Firefly alcohol markers . (I have an older set of the spectrum noir markers that has the names on them only and not the numbers so I will be using that to describe which markers I used.) But of course you could use which ever media you are more comfortable using to color your images.

Now for the coloring;

For the little rabbit I used only chameleon markers, I used NU0 (CHM) for the body and the outline of the ears and NU2 (CHM) for the nose and inside of the ears and left the tummy and tail white.

For the little bear I used the spectrum nouir and firefly markers, I used the Canary (SN) for the body of the bear, Red (SN) for the shirt and 33 Melon Yellow (firefly).

For the little tiger I used chameleon and spectrum noir markers, I used OR3 (CHM) for the body, BK4 (CHM) for the strips of the little tiger, RD4 (CHM) for the nose and the Rose Red (SN) for the inside of the mouth.

for the little piggy I used chameleon and firefly markers, I used PK4 (CHM) for the ears and nose, PK5 (CHM) for the tummy and 9 Pale Pink (firefly), for the bees I use yellow and black.


So, once I finished all the coloring I gathered all of the die cuts and pieces needed for the card. Now please bare with me while I try to explain how I assembled this card. So first up is the easy part which is to put foam adhesive on all the little images you want. I placed foam adhesive on the bear, rabbit, and little piggy I colored and cut out and set them aside.

Then I took the funky upside down looking "T" die cut as shown in the picture above and folded at the score lines. First I folded the ones closest to the inside inward and then I folded the outer score lines outward; leaving it looking like a little rounded rectangle with a long "stem". Next I "fed" the outer flaps into the small slit I created in the background using the small line die cut and unfolded them and laying them flat. The small rounded rectangle should be on the upper part of the card (where the card front is) on the back of the background page it should just be the strip of paper popping up where the small notch was made on the background.

Next I took the rectangular die cut and folded it at the score lines as well. Then I added adhesive in the middle and on the flap making sure that on the flap its on the bottom of the flap to make sure it sticks to the outer flap. This small rectangular piece is so that the strip of paper from the funny looking "t" at the back of the background wont wobble around. To attach the small rectangular piece I placed it on the back towards the top centering it to make sure the sliding piece works correctly. I first placed the middle with adhesive centering it with the strip of paper from the funny looking "T" then I folded the longer flap on top of the strip of paper and finishing off by placing the smaller flap (the one with angled sides) with the adhesive on the bottom to attach it together. Make sure when you place this piece on, that the smallest flap with angled sides is always on top to make sure that the strip wont get stuck when moving up and down.

Once I finished assembling the sliding piece I flipped over the background page so the background would be facing up and the small rounded rectangular piece as well. Next I finished assembling the front of the card, I placed the little tiger on the rounded rectangular piece to make it slide up and down giving it the effect that it's bouncing. then I arranged the rest of the little images with foam adhesive around the little tiger and pasted then down. After I was happy with where everything was I flipped it over once more and added foam adhesive around the edges of the sliding mechanism. I did this to make it easier to grab the strip that you pull. Then I attached everything on to the base of a card what measured 5 1/2-4 1/4. Thank you for joining me today hope to see you next time.



 

Materials Used:

Stamp Set:

https://www.kindredstamps.com/products/childhood-friends


Let's toast Pull tab-add on:

https://www.lawnfawn.com/products/lets-toast-pull-tab-add-on


https://www.simonsaysstamp.com/product/Lawn-Fawn-LETS-TOAST-PULL-TAB-ADD-ON-Lawn-Cuts-LF1822-dlf1822


Work Surface:

https://www.simonsaysstamp.com/product/Tim-Holtz-Tonic-GLASS-MEDIA-MAT-1914e-1914e?currency=USD


https://www.ellenhutson.com/tonic-glass-media-mat-by-tim-holtz/



72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page